Brief history of centre

As we enter the third millennium, two issues have remained atop the menu of ingredients for success in national development. These are the environment and science education. The former is the milieu for development; the latter the pathway to crafting the tool. Far-sighted countries have come to this realization and are deploying resources for sustainable environmental practices and for the improvement of the quality of science education.  In Nigeria, this realization is growing as efforts are being directed with some vigour, on environmental and science education issues.

In 1994, Lagos State University demonstrated its alignment with this foresight by collaborating with the Lagos State Government to establish the Lagos State government/Lagos State University Centre for Environment and Science Education. Professor Enitan Abisogun Bababunmi was appointed by Government as the Foundation Director of the Centre.

1n 1996, the Lagos State Government approved that the government partner in the joint venture be transformed into the Lagos State Environment Protection Agency (LASEPA). Consequently, in June 1996, Senate and Governing Council of Lagos State, approved the establishment of Lagos State University Centre for Environment and Science Education (LASU-CESE) from the second joint venture partner. Professor Peter Okebukola was appointed the Foundation Director of LASU-CESE. Mr. Ola Vincent, CFR, former Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria and Chairman of the Lagos State Chapter of the Nigerian Conservation Foundation (NCF) was appointed by the Governing Council of the University as the Foundation Chairman of the Governing Board of LASU-CESE. Since its establishment, LASU-CESE has remained a formidable research, training and community service centre on topical environmental and science education matters, drawing high-caliber scholars of international repute. The assumption of duty of Professor Fatiu Ademola Akesode as Vice Chancellor in 1997 witnessed the quickening of the pace of development of the Centre. In August 1998, he chaired Senate which approved the academic programmes of the Centre. The foundation Administrative Secretary (Mrs. Bola Elusade-Deputy Registrar) was appointed for the Centre in 1998. It is to the credit of Professor F. A. Akesode (the then Vice-Chancellor) that the Centre now enrolls its higher degree students and being vigorously encouraged to attain a high level of academic attainment in the areas of the environment and science education. Aside from the pioneering Director, the Directorate has been managed by the following Professors Omolara Bamgboye, Martins Anathekhai, Sena Bakre, Ademola Onifade (late), Adeleke Adeniyi. and the current Director, Babajide Elemo.